Keynote speakers
Professor David Oliver

Professor David Oliver 
Clinical Vice President, Royal College of Physicians of London 

David has been an NHS doctor since 1989 and consultant Physician since 1998. He is the current elected clinical vice-president of the Royal College of Physicians, leading the Care Quality Improvement Directorate.

David is a visiting fellow at The King's Fund and visiting Professor at City University, London, alongside his clinical job as an NHS consultant in geriatrics and general internal medicine at the Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust where he led and developed services for several years. He was formerly a consultant and clinical director in south London. He was president of the British Geriatrics Society until 2016 and Department of Health National Clinical Director for Older People until 2013.

David writes professionally for medical and general publications, including since 2015 his weekly “acute perspective” column in the BMJ and blogs regularly for the King’s Fund. Academically, he has published more than 120 research papers, reviews book chapters and editorials.

 Photo of Keynote speaker Bruce Biccard


Professor Bruce Biccard
Professor and Second Chair, Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine
Groote Schuur Hospital and University of Cape Town

Bruce Biccard is an anaesthesiologist, Professor and Second Chair in the Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine at Groote Schuur Hospital and the University of Cape Town, South Africa. His research interests include the epidemiology of cardiovascular disease, perioperative cardiovascular risk prediction and risk modification, perioperative medicine, perioperative outcomes and global surgery. He is an active member of the South African Perioperative Research Group (SAPORG). He is a proponent of collaborative research to improve public health and participates in national and international collaborative perioperative outcomes research. He was the co-principal investigator for the African Surgical Outcomes Study (ASOS).

 Photo of Keynote speaker Dr Richard Griffiths

Professor Richard Griffiths
Consultant Anaesthetist, Peterborough City Hospital

Aged 58, born in Pontypridd, married to Melanie, a physiotherapist, not an actress, two daughters Emma and Rebeca. Trained at St Thomas’ Hospital Medical School in London (now part of Kings College). Postgraduate training in Nottingham, Leicester and University of California, San Francisco.

Consultant anaesthetist at Peterborough & Stamford Hospitals NHS Trust since 1995, anaesthetising 7 clinical sessions per week, averaging 600 anaesthetics per year. Ex Vice President of the AAGBI. Examiner for Primary FRCA from 2003 to 2012, founder of the NHS Hip Fracture Perioperative Network.

Dr Richard Armstrong, ST3 Anaesthetist, Bristol Royal Infirmary
Dr Nick Barrett, Consultant in Critical Care and Anaesthesia, Guy's and St Thomas' Foundation Trust
Dr Rony Berrebi, Consultant Anaesthetist, London North West University Healthcare Trust
Dr Tahzeeb Bhagat, Consultant Anaesthetist, Guy's and St Thomas' Foundation Trust

Prof Karim Brohi, Professor of Trauma Sciences, Queen Mary University of London

Dr Michael Carter, Consultant Anaesthetist, Spire Hospital, Harpenden 
Dr Mark Cox, Consultant Anaesthetist, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital 
Dr Jean-Jacque De-Gorter, Chief Medical Officer, Spire Healthcare
Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly, Consultant Anaesthetist, Guy's and St Thomas' Foundation Trust 
Dr Sally El-Ghazali, Chair, Trainee Committee, Association of Anaesthetists
Dr Robbie Erskine, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal Derby Hospital
Dr Chris Evans, Anaesthetic Trainee / UCL PhD student, Surgical Outcomes Research Centre, University College London Hospitals 
Dr Ada Ezihe-Ejiofor, Consultant Anaesthetist, Guy's and St Thomas' Foundation Trust 
Prof William Fawcett, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal Surrey County Hospital
Dr Peter Featherstone, Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine, Addenbrooke’s Hospital
Prof Gerry Fitzpatrick, Vice President, College of Anaesthesiologsts of Ireland
Dr Bev Fitzsimons, Head of Quality Improvement, The Point of Care Foundation 
Dr Kathleen Ferguson, President, Association of Anaesthetists
Dr Ravi Gill, Consultant Anaesthetist, Southampton General Hospital
Dr Laura Green, Consultant in Haemostasis & Transfusion Medicine, NHS Blood and Transplant and Barts Health NHS Trust
Dr Suni Halder, Consultant Anaesthetist, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Dr Libby Haxby, Lead Clinician in Clinical Risk, Royal Brompton Hospital 
Dr Adam Hewitt-Smith, Honorary Lecturer, Department of Anaesthesia, Busitema University Faculty of Health Sciences
Dr Danielle Huckle, Consultant Anaesthetist, University Hospital Wales
Dr Guy Jackson, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Sian Jaggar, Consultant Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist, Royal Brompton Hospital 
Dr Luke James, UK Medical Director, Bupa Insurance Ltd 
Dr Carolyn Johnston, Consultant Anaesthetist, St George's Hospital 
Prof Andrew Klein, Editor-In-Chief, Anaesthesia
Dr Surrah Leifer, Consultant Anaesthetist, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Prof Denny Levett, Honorary Professor of Perioperative Medicine and Critical Care, University Hospital Southampton
Prof Ravi Mahajan, President, RCoA
Dr Peter Marhofer, Director of Paediatric Anaesthesia, Medical University of Vienna 
Dr Maryanne Mariyaselvam, Clinical Research Fellow, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Kings Lynn
Prof Stuart Marshall, Consultant Anaesthetist, Alfred Hospital and Peninsula Health, Melbourne, Australia 
Dr Elizabeth McGrady, Consultant Anaesthetist, Glasgow Royal Infirmary
Dr Alistair McKenzie, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh 
Dr Douglas McWhinne, Milton Keynes Hospital
Dr Craig Morris, Consultant Anaesthetist and Intensivist, The Royal Derby Hospital
Dr Anthea Mowett, Chair, BMA Representative Body
Dr Mike Nathanson, Consultant Anaesthetist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
Dr Marlies Ostermann, Consultant in Critical Care and Nephrology, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Mathew Patteril, Consultant Anaesthetist, University Hospital Coventry & Warwickshire
Dr Amit Pawa, Consultant Anaesthetist, Guy's and St Thomas' Foundation Trust
Dr Nial Quiney, Consultant Anaesthetist, Royal Surrey County Hospital
Dr Hugh Rogers, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
Dr Ben Shippey, Consultant Anaesthetist, Victoria Hospital 
Dr Chris Showden, Consultant Anaestheist, Freeman Hospital
Dr Mark Stacey, Consultant Obstetric Anaesthetist, Cardiff and Associate Dean, New Initiatives (Wales)
Dr Mary Stocker, President, British Association of Day Surgery
Dr Michelle White, Consultant Anaesthetist, Great Ormond Street Hospital
Dr Matt Wiles, Consultant in Neuroanaesthesia and Major Trauma, Sheffield Teaching Hospital
Workshop Leads
Dr David De Beer, Great Ormond Street Hopsital
Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly, Guy's Hospital
Prof Richard Griffiths, Peterborough City Hospital
Dr Mike Kinsella, St Michael's Hospital, Bristol
Dr Stuart Marshall, Guy's Hospital
Dr Cyprian Medonca, University Hospital Coventry
Dr Craig Morris, The Royal Derby Hospital
Dr Ben Shippey, Victoria Hospital
Dr Frank Swinton, Airedale Hospital

Dr Steve Yentis, Chealsea & Westminster Hospital